From CTE Policy Watch – In June, President Donald Trump issued an executive order on “Expanding Apprenticeships in America.” As ACTE reported at the time, the order included directives intended to establish industry-recognized apprenticeships, use funding to promote apprenticeships, expand access to apprenticeships, promote apprenticeship programs at colleges and universities, recognize excellence in apprenticeships, and improve the effectiveness of workforce development program

The order also called for establishing a task force on expanding apprenticeships. On Oct. 16, Secretary of Labor Alexander Acosta announced members of the new task force. According to a press release, members represent “companies, trade and industry groups, educational institutions, and labor unions.” The task force is charged with identifying “strategies and proposals to promote apprenticeships, especially in sectors where apprenticeship programs are insufficient.”

In a separate press release, Secretary Betsy DeVos touted apprenticeships as offering students “hands-on education needed for today’s in-demand jobs,” and the desire to “increase the number of postsecondary pathways available to students.” Below is a full list of members named to the task force.

Task Force on Apprenticeship Expansion Members:

Chair – Secretary Alexander Acosta, U.S. Department of Labor
Vice-Chair – Secretary Betsy DeVos, U.S. Department of Education
Vice-Chair – Secretary Wilbur Ross, U.S. Department of Commerce

Michael Bellaman, President and CEO, Associated Builders and Contractors
Joshua Bolten, President and CEO, Business Roundtable
Walter Bumphus, President and CEO, American Association of Community Colleges
Wesley Bush, Chairman, CEO and President, Northrup Grumman
The Honorable Dennis Daugaard, Governor, South Dakota
Emily Stover DeRocco, Founder & CEO, E3 Engage Educate Employ
Cari Dominguez, Director, Manpower Inc.
Thomas J. Donohue, President and CEO, U.S. Chamber of Commerce
Montez King, Executive Director, National Institute for Metalworking Skills
Andrew Liveris, Chairman and CEO, Dow Chemical Company
Katherine Lugar, President and CEO, American Hotel and Lodging Association
Douglas J. McCarron, General President, United Brotherhood of Carpenters and Joiners of America
Sean McGarvey, President, North America’s Building Trades Unions
Marc H. Morial, CEO, National Urban League
John Ratzenberger, workforce training advocate
The Honorable Kim Reynolds, Governor, Iowa
Mark B. Rosenberg, Board of Directors, Association of Public and Land-Grant Universities
Joseph Sellers Jr., General President, International Association of Sheet Metal, Air, Rail and Transportation Workers
Dawn Sweeney, President and CEO, National Restaurant Association
Jay Timmons, President and CEO, National Association of Manufacturers